ICYMI: Lewandowski and Putellas bag FIFA Best awards

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski finally received the respect he deserved on Monday night, after missing out on the Ballon d’Or.

For the second year in a row, the Polish scoring machine upset Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah to earn 2021 Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year in an online ceremony held in Zurich, Switzerland.

The prestigious award is presented to the outstanding male player in men’s football, as determined by an international jury comprised of current managers of all men’s national teams, current captains of all men’s national sides, one specialist journalist from each territory represented by a national team, and fans registered on FIFA’s official website.

With 43 goals in 34 Bundesliga games, Lewandowski broke the 49-year Bundesliga record for most goals scored in a calendar year. He led Bayern to the FIFA Club World Cup title in early 2021, followed by the German Bundesliga championship. Additionally, the 33-year-old was instrumental in Poland’s World Cup qualification campaign, scoring eight goals in eight appearances.

Meanwhile, Barcelona playmaker Alexia Putellas won the Women’s Player of the Year award, defeating Chelsea’s Sam Kerr and colleague Jennifer Hermoso. After winning the Ballon d’Or in November, the 27-year-old now possesses both of football’s highest individual honors.

Putellas was one of the greatest players on a fantastic Barcelona team who hammered Women’s Super League champions Chelsea 4-0 to win the Women’s Champions League for the first time and retain their domestic Primera Division title. She also holds the record for most caps for Spain and was voted UEFA Women’s Player of the Year.

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles